The winners of the “The Science of Fiction” competition 2020


The winners of the “The Science of Fiction” competition 2020

The winners of the composition competition “The Science of Fiction”, which was dedicated to the literary works of Stanislaw Lem, have been announced. In the run-up, young composers were faced with the task of composing a work inspired by the science fiction author for the Klangforum Wien, which will take place in 2021 – the 100th Birthday anniversary of Stanislaw Lem – performed by the ensemble Klangforum Wien.

“The ensemble’s reputation gives us the opportunity not only to remind the international audience of Stanisław Lem’s work but also to present the talent of the Polish composer who will win the competition,” says Barbara Schabowska-Maszenda, acting director of the Adam Mickiewicz Institute.

“Futurology and contemporary music are currently trying to highlight shadowy elements and project them into a future scenario. Asking the right questions makes it possible to understand to what extent the future is already being realized, “adds Peter Paul Kainrath from Klangforum Wien.

Works by young composers

The Adam Mickiewicz Institute is the Polish national cultural institution whose task it is to build and communicate the cultural dimension of the Poland brand. Cultural projects in 70 countries on 6 continents have already been and are being carried out by the institute. In the course of its operations to date, the institute has presented 38 strategic programs that have been viewed by 60 million viewers.

The cooperation between the Adam Mickiewicz Institute and the Klangforum Wien dates back to 2011. The institute has repeatedly carried out projects with this extraordinary ensemble, including supporting the collaboration with Agata Zubel and the performance of her play “What is the word” and her opera “Bildbeschreibung” based on the text by the outstanding German playwright Heiner Müller.

The Adam Mickiewicz Institute also supported the album releases of the works of Roman Haubenstock-Ramati and Agata Zubel in performances by the musicians of the Klangforum Wien on the KAIROS label.

Winner of the composition award

Żaneta Rydzewska

Żaneta Rydzewska, born in Poland in 1991, winner of the composition prize is a composer, master of improvisation, and clarinetist.

In her music, she often takes inspiration from nature, physics, philosophy, contemporary social challenges, and interpersonal relationships.

© Pola Sobuń

Winner of the composition award

Mikołaj Laskowski

The Berlin-based composer, Mikołaj Laskowski, was born in Gdynia, Poland, in 1988.

He graduated with honors from the Royal Conservatory in The Hague, where he studied with Yannis Kyriakides and Peter Adriaansz from 2013-2015.

Before that (2009–2014) he studied with Grażyna Pstrokońska-Nawratil at the Karol Lipiński Music Academy in Wrocław.