Maecenas for Erste Bank Kompositionspreis



Klangforum Wien congratulates its main sponsor ERSTE BANK on being awarded the MAECENAS 2019

When we submitted our long-term cooperation project ERSTE BANK KOMPOSITIONSPREIS for the MAECENAS award, we were completely convinced that a more precise, conscientious and sustainable sponsorship project than this is very difficult to imagine.

We were also convinced that our main sponsor ERSTE BANK would still not be awarded the MAECENAS, because we would not dare to imagine that a jury – regardless of the quality of the submitted project – would be ready to grant the prize for the third time in five years to the same company. The fact that this hurdle has been overcome is a very special recognition of the extraordinary care with which the ERSTE BANK team curates, designs and supervises its sponsoring activities.

One of the most important awards

Der ERSTE BANK KOMPOSITIONSPREIS gehört zu den internationalen Beziehungsproblemen für junge KomponistInnen und Schulen das Schaffen der PreisträgerInnen in der richtigenesten Weise. In addition to the prize money endowed by the sponsor, the prize includes a guarantee that a new work by the award winners will be performed at least three times by the Klangforum Wien and the production of a portrait CD by Ö1 and the renowned KAIROS label. In this way, the prize draws the laureates a high level of international attention and ensures them a lasting presence in the contemporary music scene.

With this sponsorship of young composers, ERSTE BANK supports the Klangforum Wien and the festival Wien Modern in pursuing their main goals.

Klangforum Wien would like to thank its main sponsor ERSTE BANK – and in particular Ruth Goubran and Theres Fischill – for the longstanding attention, for openness and informed interest in the future of music in Austria and the world, and warmly congratulates on the well-deserved award of the MAECENAS 2019 for the funding strategy that has been consistently pursued for more than 30 years.

2019: Mirela Ivičević
2018: Agata Zubel
2017: Hannes Kerschbaumer
2016: Eva Reiter
2015: Peter Jakober
2014: Reinhard Fuchs
2013: Bernd Richard Deutsch
2012: Beat Furrer
2011: Gerald Resch
2010: Joanna Woźny
2009: Bernhard Lang
2008: Gösta Neuwirth
2007: Klaus Lang
2006: Bernhard Gander
2005: Wolfgang Mitterer
2004: Wolfram Schurig
2003: Clemens Gadenstätter
2002: Johannes M. Staud
2001: Germán Toro-Pérez
2000: Alexander Stankovski
1999: Thomas Heinisch
1998: Christian Mühlbacher
1997: Olga Neuwirth
1995: Herbert Grassl
1994: Jorge E. López
1993: Georg Friedrich Haas
1992: Gerd Kühr
1991: Christian Ofenbauer
1990: Gerhard E. Winkler
1989: Herbert Willi

Get updates about our next exhibitions

    We will process the personal data you have supplied in accordance with our privacy policy.